State Authorization

Institutions engaging in regulated activities outside of their home states are required to be compliant with the regulations and laws of each state where the activities occur. An institution may achieve compliance either through a state’s authorization process or through a reciprocity agreement.

SARA (State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement)

National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA) is a voluntary, regional approach to state oversight of postsecondary distance education. By participating in SARA, institutions that are approved by their home states are permitted to offer online programs to residents of other SARA states without having to seek approval.

The State of Ohio has been a member of NC-SARA since March 2015. Case Western Reserve University was approved by the Ohio Department of Higher Education to participate in SARA on September 16, 2015. In September 2019, Case Western Reserve University entered its fifth year of participation.

SARA Member States

There are 52 SARA members (49 states plus the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and U.S. Virgin Islands).

View the map of SARA States.

As an institution participating in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA), Case Western Reserve University is authorized to offer online programs and courses to students in the following states:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington D.C.
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Non-SARA State

  • California
    • As an accredited, private non-profit postsecondary institution, Case Western Reserve University is not required to register (seek approval) with California to offer online programs and courses.

Learn more about Case Western Reserve University’s state authorization and reciprocity agreements.

Case Western Reserve University’s Online Master of Social Work (MSW) program is not able to enroll students in Puerto Rico or the U.S. Virgin Islands.